Presented by: Vincenzo Corelli of l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique

Date/Time: Wednesday, July 6, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC

Description: The highly dynamic shifts in species distributions and transformations of marine ecosystems due to climate change present significant management challenges to marine protected areas (MPAs). While climate change projections can be incorporated into the design process for new MPAs and MPA networks, adaptation is less clear for established MPAs, which were often not designed with climate change impacts in mind. This webinar will explore the results of an analysis that surveyed the integration of climate change measures in existing MPA management plans. The presenter will share what actions are already being taken by MPA managers to anticipate, adapt to, and mitigate the consequences of climate change and ensure the continued effectiveness of MPAs in a changing ocean. They will also discuss how their results create a community-sourced database of actions which other MPAs can draw upon.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2792034280040826384