Presented by: Barbara Lausche of Mote Marine Laboratory and the IUCN-WCPA Marine Connectivity Working Group and Mary Collins of the Center for Large Landscape Conservation

Date/Time: Tuesday, February 8, 1 pm US EST/10 am US PST/6 pm UTC

Description: Ecological connectivity of marine and coastal ecosystems is essential to linking our oceans’ critical habitats, species, and natural processes. Beyond the movement of species, these connections sustain important ecosystem functions such as larval dispersal, nutrient cycling, and carbon sequestration. To help guide, enhance, and restore ecological connectivity of the ocean, the IUCN WCPA has released a new publication entitled “Marine Connectivity Conservation ‘Rules of Thumb’ for MPA and MPA Network Design.” This publication provides broadly applicable guidance on connectivity for MPA managers. This webinar will highlight several of the 13 ‘Rules of Thumb’ and how they can help guide integration of connectivity into conservation activities – ranging from interactions across the land-sea interface to the movement of currents and migratory species around the world and across political boundaries.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8577761218815699212