Presented by: Steven Mana‘oakamai Johnson of Arizona State University

Date/Time: Thursday, June 9, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC

Description: A fundamental challenge in ocean conservation is translating the results of climate models into forms that managers and others can use to plan for the future. Using techniques from information theory, the Ocean Novelty (ONo) Index provides a simple and intuitive way to understand how climate change will alter key ocean biogeochemical variables. This measure can help MPA managers know what they need to prioritize in their planning and design policies and regulations that help their MPA keep pace with expected shifts in the ecosystem state. This webinar will share how the ONo Index is calculated and walk through an application for large MPAs. We will also be asking attendees to share their experiences and challenges using climate change data and scenarios in their MPA planning.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_A1QpSGLGQAmz3srqm16Tpw