Presented by: Gillian Ainsworth of University of Santiago de Compostela

Date/Time: Tuesday, April 9, 10 am US EDT/7 am US PDT/2 pm UTC/3 pm BST/4 pm CEST

Description: Marine protected areas (MPAs) are key management tools that contribute to the conservation of marine ecosystems worldwide, increasing the ecosystem services that nature provides to people. These ecosystem services include the release of oxygen, leisure opportunities, cultural inspiration, and the provision of food and medicines that improve the health and well-being of millions of people. In this talk we explain how natural processes and components in MPAs are valued by different groups of people and how we can maximize their effectiveness and avoid negative socio-economic effects such as social conflicts and inequitable distribution of benefits. We recommend that the MPA creation and management decision-making include the collection and integration of interdisciplinary data. This data can be used to develop pluralistic methods of valuation and foster social equity by involving local stakeholders. 

Hosted by: OCTO

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_IJUIp1uUTDapu2RgntTUGQ