INTERPRETATION CHANNELS IN ENGLISH AND SPANISH AVAILABLE

Presented by: Paula Cristina Sierra Correa and Anny Paola Zamora Bornachera of INVEMAR

Date/Time: Wednesday, March 6, 3 pm EST (New York City)/Noon PST (Los Angeles, California)/8 pm UTC/2 pm CST (Mexico City)/3 pm COT (Bogotá)

Description: Vida Manglar Project is a joint initiative of local communities and institutions to reduce the effects of climate change and conserve the mangrove ecosystems of the Columbian Caribbean. The project seeks the certification of actions that reduce carbon emissions from the loss of mangrove forests. It has achieved certifications from Verra’s Verified Carbon Standard (VCS) and the Climate, Community and Biodiversity (CCB) Standards, allowing it to enter the carbon credit market. Some of the project’s activities include establishing conservation and restoration agreements with local communities and ranchers and creating alternative livelihoods – such as ecotourism; beekeeping; and participatory monitoring of manatee, caiman, river otters, and birds – for local communities. Project activities benefit 12.000 inhabitants that rely on mangrove forest ecosystem services, 435 families, and 14 mangrove community organizations. As a whole, the project to date has avoided the emission of about 69.000 tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere and aims to avoid the emission of about 930.000 tons CO2 over the next 20 years.

Hosted by: OCTO and IUCN on behalf of SEA Success, a UNDP Ocean Innovation Challenge project (https://oceaninnovationchallenge.org)

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_8HHm65cTTVuRM3TWA1c9Zg

HABRÁ CANALES DE INTERPRETACIÓN EN ESPAÑOL E INGLÉ DISPONIBLES

Webinar: Proyecto Vida Manglar: Certificando acciones de conservación para reducir las emisiones de carbono y beneficiar a las comunidades locales

Presentado por: Paula Cristina Sierra Correa y Anny Paola Zamora Bornachera de INVEMAR

Fecha/hora: Miércoles 6 de Marzo, 3 pm EST de EE.UU. (Ciudad de Nueva York)/12 pm PST de EE.UU. (Los Ángeles, California)/8 pm UTC/2 pm CST (Ciudad de México)/3 pm COT (Bogotá)

Descripción: El Proyecto Vida Manglar es una iniciativa conjunta de comunidades e instituciones locales para reducir los efectos del cambio climático y conservar los ecosistemas de manglares del Caribe colombiano. El proyecto busca la certificación de acciones que reduzcan las emisiones de carbono por la pérdida de bosques de manglares. Ha obtenido las certificaciones de VERRA a través del Estándar de Carbono Verificado (VCS) y del estándar Clima, Comunidad y Biodiversidad (CCB), lo que le permite ingresar al mercado de créditos de carbono. Algunas de las actividades del proyecto incluyen establecer acuerdos de conservación y restauración de manglares con comunidades locales y ganaderos y crear medios de vida alternativos, como el ecoturismo; apicultura; y monitoreo participativo de manatíes, caimanes, nutrias de río y aves. Las actividades del proyecto benefician a 12.000 habitantes que dependen de los servicios ecosistémicos de los manglares, 435 familias y 14 organizaciones comunitarias de manglares. En conjunto, el proyecto a la fecha ha evitado la emisión de cerca de 69.000 toneladas de dióxido de carbono a la atmósfera y pretende evitar en los próximos 20 años la emisión de cerca de 930.000 toneladas de CO2.

Organizado por: OCTO y UICN en nombre de SEA Success, un proyecto del PNUD Ocean Innovation Challenge (https://oceaninnovationchallenge.org)

Registro: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_8HHm65cTTVuRM3TWA1c9Zg