Webinars

Upcoming Webinars

Marine Connectivity Conservation “Rules of Thumb” for MPA and MPA Network Design

Tuesday, February 8, 1 pm US EST/10 am US PST/6 pm UTC. Presented by: Barbara Lausche of Mote Marine Laboratory and the IUCN-WCPA Marine Connectivity Working Group and Mary Collins of the Center for Large Landscape Conservation. To help guide, enhance, and restore ecological connectivity of the ocean, the IUCN WCPA has released a new publication entitled “Marine Connectivity Conservation ‘Rules of Thumb’ for MPA and MPA Network Design.” This publication provides broadly applicable guidance on connectivity for MPA managers. This webinar will highlight several of the 13 ‘Rules of Thumb’ and how they can help guide integration of connectivity into conservation activities – ranging from interactions across the land-sea interface to the movement of currents and migratory species around the world and across political boundaries.

Past Webinars

Monitoring marine sanctuary usage with NMS-COUNT

This webinar originally aired on 8 April 2021. Presented by: Robert Burns and Ross Andrew of West Virginia University Visitor use drives change in both ecological and economic conditions in marine…

Planning Ocean Uses in 3D

This webinar originally aired on 3 March 2021. Presented by: Mimi D’Iorio of the NOAA National Marine Protected Areas Center and Charles Wahle of the NOAA National Marine Protected Areas Center…